"I'm sure back home they think I've lost my mind." -- Ben Folds Five


2002-01-09 - 11:22 p.m.

Today at work was hellish.

We had another mass lab meeting.

Oh, joy.

Comments were made.

I was insulted.

Mango is leaving tomorrow.

Shawn is leaving next Friday, and after today's happenings, I am giving my one week notice Friday. That should be fun.

me: "Hey. Just wanted to let you know that I'm quitting. My last day will be next Friday."

boss: "What???"

me: "Yeah, I'm outta here. It's been real."

boss: "What, did you get a job somewhere else? You getting paid more? Benefits?"

me: "No, no... and... no."

boss: "I don't understand. Why would you leave this wonderful place? Why? Why? Why?"

me: "Let me see... how shall I word this? Um, because I hate you and most of the other people that work here. You're all petty and self-righetous with serious god-complexes. You're all wacko. That and I hate you. Did I mention that already?"

boss: "I can pay you more."

me: "You can't pay me enough."

boss: "You have to give at least 2 weeks notice!"

me: "Okay, how 'bout you notice I'm not here for the next two weeks. Nice knowing ya. You suck. Bye-bye. Have a nice life. Loser."

That would be my ideal conversation. I would love to see the look on his face. I can't wait to see the look on his face when I tell him I'm leaving the same day as Shawn. Now, all of his help has quit. That should tell you something.

I was so pissed that I came home and wrote a 4-page letter to the heads of the company. I'm going to mail it to company headquarters, after getting Mango and Shawn to sign it, too. I also plan on making copies for everyone in the lab, and putting them in their mailboxes my last day. Revenge is sweet -- even more sweet when they deserve it.

And also, I am recruiting people for my backpacking trip through Europe. Shawn is definitely going, and Mango is a "maybe". There are also a few other friends who are thinking about it. If any of you would like to go this summer with a group of us, let me know. It's going to be great!

I should probably start searching the classifieds now...

the forest - the trees - randomness

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!